jump to navigation

The SUNSET TRIBE November 12, 2007

Posted by shaferfinancial in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I don’t remember when I first became a member of the sunset tribe, but it was a long time ago.  There is something about watching sunsets that releases stress, makes it all seem a little better.

Last week my family took its annual sojourn to the beach.  At this time, every year, we spend a week at a near-by beach.  This year it couldn’t have come at a better time.  Recently, I lost my father.  There is something about becoming parentless that is scary, yet strangely freeing.  I have watched both my parents die, while taking care of them.  It is a process that all adult children can benefit from.  It brings the reality of life much closer to one’s consciousness; birth, living, death.  Meditating on the cycle of life I believe makes us better people, citizens, and fathers/mothers.

Same with sunsets.  It is the death of another day that the sunset celebrates.  Meditating on the events of the day can bring clarity and perspective to one’s life.

Last week we had seven beautiful sunsets.  I saw them all.  A key lime magarita in my hand, Garrett splashing in the pool, Eleanor by my side, it all seemed perfect.  I literally could feel the pent-up stress leaving my body.  Why don’t I do this every day?

It is Monday morning and I feel great.  I don’t react to the last minute stress of a closing, the trip over the bridge for an appointment.  Even the air seems lighter (or is that the cooler weather?).  It is the simple things that we forget to do in our lives, like sunsets, that make all the difference.

Don’t forget to do the simple things in your life.

Ahh, sunsets. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

