jump to navigation

Eckhart Tolle, Professionalism, and Wealth Creation March 12, 2008

Posted by shaferfinancial in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I am reading Eckhart Tolle’s latest book “A New Earth Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose.”  While reading it I was thinking of a post someone put on a business network group list/serv I belong to.  The post went like this.  Someone this person was talking to got a business card from a third party.  This business card was from Vista an on-line company that sells business cards cheaply and for free (+shipping) if they can put their name on the back.  She then questioned this persons ‘professionalism’ because of the business card.  Obviously, this was an emotional ploy to get people to hire her as a business consultant where presumedly she would sell them ‘professional’ looking business cards.  But beyond the obvious, I got to wondering how she construes ‘professionalism’.  If someone is going to sell you a product do you judge them by their business card, the clothes they wear, the car/truck they drive?  I suppose some people do. Eckhart Tolle suggests that this is ego confusion, identifying people/yourself with things.  He calls this type of ego driven thinking shallow and short lived.  His argument is that once engaged is this process one can never be satisfied, always wanting more.  Always consuming.  I agree.

Have you ever sat in an impressive office, across from someone in a suit, and felt somehow this person must really know what they are talking about?  Bankers, Insurance Agents, Lawyers, etc. all use this ploy of course.  But it is not the impressive office, the suit or any of the visual clues that make a person knowledgeable is it?  No, it is the quality of their mental and emotional abilities.  It is the knowledge they have and their willingness to do what is best for their clients even if it means they make less money.

True wealth can’t be built on this ego confusion.  In The Millionaire Next Door the authors’ assumptions hinge on the fact that many of these millionaires buy used American cars.  I can’t tell you how many times I have  pulled credit and found that people with no money in the bank are driving expensive cars with huge monthly payments!  This observation points us to the truth that wealth creation is about the quality of the thinking of people, not their appearance, not how much they pay for business cards, not the cars they drive. 

Eckhart Tolle suggests that spiritual awakening requires us to drop our confused ego which causes us to misidentify ourselves/others with things.  I would add that when we do this, it opens up our ability to use our intuition and to really listen to folks when they talk to us.

When in any situation, including a sales situation, won’t we all be better off making decisions based on the quality of the proposal, our intuition about the quality of the people we are dealing with, rather than how much they paid for their business cards, the type of car/truck they drive or their clothes?

Creating wealth requires folks to think differently.  We must awaken from the ego confusion that misidentifies things for people.  We are not a totality of  the things we own.  In fact, in the early stages of wealth creation, owning lots of things can be fatal.  Once you make a habit of not owning lots of expensive things (like new BMW’s), you learn not to identify yourself with what you own, instead you identify to the freedom your wealth is creating.  Only then can you “Awaken to Your Life’s Purpose.”

Oh yea, I will continue to buy my business cards cheaply because they aren’t me, they are only a tool for putting my contact information into someone’s hand.  If someone rejects me because of my business cards, frankly, they are not likely someone that would be interested in what I have to offer.  I’ll wait until they ‘awaken.’  

Comments»

1. linennis - March 13, 2008

Nice post, David. I haven’t always felt this way. There was a time when I was embarrassed the sun had shredded my car’s sun-visors and bits of foam rubber fell into my hair. (I drove that car for 20 years and sold it for $850!)

Now, we buy only used cars and would be embarrassed to buy a new one!

Oh, and the last business cards I bought through Vista, I *did* pay for. Still, the VistaPrint.com logo and tagline are on the back! I was surprised, because I used to make the distinction the consultant you mentioned made.

And I used to be a graphic designer…Hmmmm, me and my cheap cards, paid for cars, and almost paid for house in Sedona, AZ!

Lin

2. Felix - May 30, 2008

I am so greatful to Eckhart Tolle and Oprah for turning me onto Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor and her beautiful book “”My Stroke of Insight””. Her story is amazing and her gift to all of us is a book purchase away I’m happy to say.

Dr Taylor was a Harvard brain scientist when she had a stroke at age 37. What was amazing was that her left brain was shut down by the stroke – where language and thinking occur – but her right brain was fully functioning. She experienced bliss and nirvana and the way she writes about it (or talks about it in her now famous TED talk) is incredible.

What I took away from Dr. Taylor’s book above all, and why I recommend it so highly, is that you don’t have to have a stroke or take drugs to find the deep inner peace that she talks about. Her book explains how. “”I want what she’s having””, and thanks to this wonderful book, I can! Thank you Dr. Taylor, and thank you Eckhart and Oprah.

3. Ivan - May 19, 2011

Thank you David, this was very insightful for me, and I needed it.Namaste.

shaferfinancial - May 20, 2011

Your welcome. I wrote that post a while ago, so I went back and re-read it. Thanks for that. Sometimes we forgot what we really know!!!!!


Leave a Reply

