jump to navigation

Memorial Day May 22, 2008

Posted by shaferfinancial in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

As some of you know, I lost my father last year.  He was a career military officer that fought in the Pacific Theatre during WWII, and had combat posts during Korea and Vietnam wars.  During WWII he was shot down out of a plane two times over the Pacific.  I spent many evenings as a young boy, hidden in another room, listening to my father and his friends discuss their military experiences.  Although, I didn’t follow my father into a military career, I have always had a deep respect for those that chose that calling.  So on the eve of my first Memorial Day holiday without my father, I want to extend my deepest gratitude for those that have fought and died for the ideals of our country.

Thank You

I also want to thank those folks who came out from MacDill Air Force Base to deliver full military honors to my father at his funeral.  My son was positively effected so much that at Thanksgiving his art creation made at school unprompted listed “soldiers who fought for us” as his first thing he was thankful for!

David Shafer 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

