jump to navigation

Pre-Snowstorm Musings February 12, 2014

Posted by shaferfinancial in Finance.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

We are expecting another snowstorm up here starting Thursday so in honor of that, I thought I would type some thoughts.

1. The market correction might be over, or not, but it doesn’t change the fundamental issues for those that assume market risk. If you can see retirement in the windshield coming up, you need to be very careful and unload as much market risk as possible. Don’t let all that Wall Street propaganda fog you to the reality of market losses destroying your retirement income.

2. Once again those that have put their money into an EIUL are sitting pretty. After a great year they have their profits locked in forever. The EIULs are working exactly as designed, the companies [I use] are strong, and my clients with there properly structured EIULs are marching toward success.

3. I continue to be happy with my investment portfolio even though I am breaking all the “rules.” Mainly the diversification rule and ignoring the so-called analyst. Using my own brain has been the best thing that has happened to me.

4. I expect a really good year end report from Berkshire Hathaway. The market will probably ignore it in favor of fear-mongering on his age or some other irrelevant issue.

5. Energy stocks I invest in are all looking solid and I expect increasing dividends to add to my portfolio. Only issue is how to re-invest my dividends on AWILCO, because the foreign stock charge of $70 is a little much for less than $1K of dividends to reinvest from them. Will have to figure that one out.

6. Wonder when the masses will wake up to the lies of Wall Street? It could be ugly when that happens.
7. Have a great Valentines day.

Comments»

1. Greg - February 12, 2014

“If you can see retirement in the windshield coming up, you need to be very careful and unload as much market risk as possible.”

The only major market risk I now have is my company stock option that just matured. I’m monitoring the stock price daily, hoping to exercise this in the next couple of weeks. Then I can route that money into something less volatile and write up a detailed blog entry about all the ups and downs of that last four years.

“Wonder when the masses will wake up to the lies of Wall Street? It could be ugly when that happens.”

My fear is that if/when this happens, people will clammer for the government to save them. We might be forced to contribute to some sort of government managed pension/IRA. I would rather opt out of any of that and do things myself. Since congress couldn’t run their own local bank or cafeteria without it going bankrupt, I don’t trust them to steer a pension plan.


Leave a Reply

